News & Events

art newsThe artists shortlisted for the ninth version of the Cardiff-based mostly international prize come from the Dominican Republic, South Africa, Japan, Puerto Rico, India and USA. The exhibition by shortlisted artists Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Helen Cammock, Oscar Murillo and Tai Shani opens at Turner Contemporary, with works spanning set up, video, sound and painting. The nominees of the Design Museum’s Designs of the Year 2019 have been introduced.

5 Myths About The Art World

The Rema Hort Mann Foundation (RHMF) announced at present that eight New York–based artists will obtain this 12 months’s $10,000 Emerging Artist Grants for demonstrating crucial and rigorous work within the area of contemporary art and for committing to creating substantial contributions to the humanities in the future. The grantees are Ander Mikalson, Autumn Knight, Elizabeth Tubergen, Elliott Jerome Brown Jr., Madeleine Hunt-Ehrlich, Rachel LaBine, Sharon Madanes, and Talia Levitt. Schwartzman can be widely revered as an unbiased curator, most notably for Instituto Inhotim, the visionary up to date artwork park set inside a 5,000-acre botanical garden in Brazil.

The foundation’s mission is to enhance the artist’s legacy through exhibitions and scholarship; operate residency programs for artists in Captiva, Florida on Rauschenberg’s 22-acre residence and in his former studio in New York City; and strengthen the artistic lifetime of artists through its philanthropy program. Farber is the co-founder and director of the Farber Foundation, the sponsoring group for Cuban Art News. With his wife Patricia, Farber has been actively concerned in international culture for the past forty years, as each artwork collector and patron. Having assembled major collections of American modernist portray and contemporary Chinese artwork, the Farbers turned to modern Cuban artwork in 2001.

Charlotte Perriand’s Work Transformed Rooms. Now It Fills a Museum

This year’s metropolis-wide celebration of contemporary ceramic art features an expanded programme of exhibitions and elevated prize cash for its ‘Award’ competition for new and progressive work. Kathy Halbreich was appointed Executive Director of the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation in November 2018.

Previously he concurrently led the Schirn Kunsthalle, the Städel Museum, and the Liebieghaus in Frankfurt, Germany as Director and CEO, all of which skilled important growth and increased attendance during his tenure. The two artists chosen to obtain the first Emerging Artist Awards will be introduced at an inaugural ceremony in Kyoto in May 2019. The recipient of the first Nomura Art Award shall be announced at a gala event in Shanghai in October 2019. The recipient of the Nomura Art Award is chosen by an impartial, international jury made up of some of the world’s most revered museum directors and curators, foundation leaders, and art experts. Each 12 months, Nomura will present the Nomura Art Award, with a prize of US$1 million, to an artist who has achieved a physique of work of major cultural significance.